It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood


I spy... the Sacre Coeur! Bonus points if you spot the corner of an arabic restaurant sign

I bet Mr. Rogers would be jealous of the neighborhood I be living in! Weather in Paris has been fairly mild recently and I’ve been taking advantage of warm-ish temperatures by walking as much as I can. I could probably fix the US debt if I had a euro for every kilometer I’ve walked in the past week… slight exaggeration.. but still…

Lemme zoom in real quick on this beaut

I love wandering through the streets, observing people and places (and not paying attention to street signs!) When I’m not in a hurry, I’d rather stop and check out all the cool street art that’s around.

At the Louvre

Street art near Sacre Coeur

Pretty neat, eh? If you’re interested, you can read up on the story behind David’s famous painting here. In the street art pic, three football dudes are receiving some gatorade. haha.

Also randomly found this:

Rough translation: 79 jewish children were housed in that building until the bombardment of April 20, 1944- and were then moved to another home, but were then stopped by the Gestapo and deported to Auschwitz where 71 of them were killed.

My mind is blown every time I learn more about the history of the buildings that are a stone’s throw from where I’m living!

Leaving you loyal blog followers with a pic of a merry band of musicians in the metro. A friend and I were about to walk briskly past, but I had to stop him so we could listen to a bit of the Pachebel’s Canon that was playing. I’m not exactly a classical music fan, but I love seeing people perform live! Plus, it was CRAZY to hear this beautiful music in such a dingy, gross place. I loved it! They drew quite a crowd, actually. (Check out the upper left of the pic- people crowded around the overlooking stairway area)

Music to my ears... in the metro?

-A

 

One thought on “It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

  1. When I was 6, I would sneak lights under the covers to study Richard Halliburton’s Complete Book of Marvels with a chapter on Mont St. MIchel. I dreamed centuries ago when the tides rose as a galloping horse jumping to the castle gates. He paid $0.36 to swim the length of the Panama Canal and hosted kings of Borneo in his aerobatic plane, receiving shrunken heads for the rolls and loops.

    C’est pas vrai!
    Check it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Halliburton
    Dad

Leave a Reply

